Eating better and workouts ARE happening

Hello all you awesome people!

A lot has been happening over the last several days. For one, I started my 21 day fix program.

I did ok for the first couple days and have got my workouts in. Not going to lie, I’m quite sore today.

But let me briefly talk about the meal plan. You get some containers each are for a different food group (veggies, fruit, protein, carb, fat, seed) and you get a container allowance each days (highest being veggie) and if your food fits into the container you can eat it! Here is what my first week of grocery shopping looked like…

20150412_195835

LOTS of produce!! Turns out we blew through this in about 2 days O.o

Overall, the plan sounds simple, right? In theory it is. Also, if I had more knowledge of food and cooking it may be easier. Instead, I have found myself eating a bunch of food that is flat out unsatisfying. I’ve been experimenting and all those experiments have failed miserably. To be quite honest, if someone showed up with a salt lick at about 3pm, I would pounce on them!

A lunch for one day… chicken, brown rice, carrots, zucchini, spinach, basil, oregano, and some chicken stock. Turns out this food was SUPER bland – had to add peppers and hot sauce to it! Lol

20150414_111545

Does that mean I’m going to give up? Yes and no. There were a couple things I was looking to get out of this program. (1) up the veggie intake (2) try to eat cleaner (3) incorporate more nutrient rich foods in my diet.

All of these things are being accomplished – but, am I going to go crazy for the full 3 weeks watching everything I use to make food actually have flavor, probably not. Am I going to let myself be hungry during the day for the sake of my “diet”? Probably not!

I am looking for lifestyle change! I am looking for a complete revamp of my food that I can maintain over the long haul. If I struggle on day 2 with what I am doing.. I’m likely to modify.

In the busy world I live in, dragging all day because I’m restricting xyz is just not practical.

So new plan for 21 day fix – stick to the food plan as much as I can, but accept that I may need to modify and not let it get me down.

In the end, performance is key! Eating in such a way that my body performs for me is very important to me. I need all the energy I can get!

With that being said – I would not discourage anyone who wants to try it! It is worth a shot. It works wonders for many many people! It just requires too much mental bandwidth that I may not be able to work with right now! I totally am going to continue to work towards being able to follow a eating style that is similar, but changing too quickly was just not important or practical for me!

Would I still buy this program again? Absolutely! The meal plan is just one part. The shakeology I really am beginning to believe in. I’ve always been hit or miss on taking multivitamins or supplementing in anyway. The shakeology is packed with nutrients, it is pretty delicious, and I really do enjoy it. I’ll likely continue to use it.

Beyond nutrition, I do like the workout A LOT. I find it motivating, the modifications are good, and I can do it in my living room! I’ve been staying on track with it and do expect to see some results – at the very least my body with be stronger by the end of this! Post workout face… 😉 I worked hard and am wiped out!! Feels good!

20150413_215722

Aside from this – I have been experimenting in the kitchen! Some days are hits and some are misses, but i am compiling a pretty good stock pile of family approved recipes. The one for this week is a hearty tomato soup!

20150413_173447

This was something of my own creation

1 lb of ground beef
1/2 zucchini, chopped
1 handful of asparagus, chopped
1/4 of onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 package of fresh tortellini (from refrigerator section)
1 can of family sized tomato soup
1/2 family sized tomato soup can filled with milk
2 teaspoon dried basil

– Boil tortellini in a large pot – as pasta is boiling work on preparing the beef
– Brown onion, garlic, and beef in large skillet until beef is almost done, towards the end add the asparagus and zucchini and saute for a few minutes
– Drain the tender pasta and put back into large pot – add the tomato soup, milk, and basil to the pot – stir
– Drain out excess liquid from the ground beef skillet – once drained add the veggie and meet mixture to the pot with the cooking soup.
– Mix altogether and bring to a boil. Once boiling let cook for just a minute or two longer and then remove from heat.

Serve and enjoy!! 🙂 This was a pretty hearty tomato soup! At the end, it is kind of like just a hearty pasta dish with a little bit extra liquid. The liquid portion of this was not significant. NOW you could correct that and add a full can of milk to the mixture – I was going for something a little less “soupy” since soup is hard to feed my baby!

This made a lot of soup! Probably about 6 servings. I fed my parents, my hubby, my baby, and myself – we finished it off!

This is certainly one for the keeper box! I’ve been working to gather dinners that are quick, simple, relatively healthy, and that my family will eat! 🙂 The hubby woofed this!!

Well all is all I have for you today! Baby and I plan to get out and enjoy the trails this weekend – I have been neglecting to get out with him too much because it has been pretty rainy this month. But the weather seems to be turning more towards the beautiful so we will get out early and put some miles on our hiking pack 🙂

Inspirational-Quotes-From2

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating better and workouts ARE happening

  1. Jonathanroth says:

    great job! I look forward to following the rest of your 21-day fix. Good luck.

  2. raleign9 says:

    Love the quote at the end!

  3. Lifestyle changes are tough. The workouts, the what can be “bland” food, but you are doing really. When you start to see results is when the encouragement comes to keep going! 🙂
    ~Carl~

Leave a Reply

