One Skillet Spanish Rice

10422199_784585234972853_6750834303646979428_n

Sometimes I feel this way when I get home from work! HA! But, I have been trying to create quality meals almost every night. For my meal plan this week starting from last Sunday, I have followed it 4 out of the 5 days. On the day I missed, I used my back-up Stouffers dinner (since sometimes you just don’t want to!!) But even on that day, I felt a little bad about feeding it to my family. This new lifestyle is improving/ruining me.

But – I will say, my hubby told me he has been eating like a king lately. Made me feel pretty good about my new found need for home cooked meals.

I have been into one skillet meals – They are quick and easy to clean up! Those are two thing I really like. Last night I made one skillet Spanish rice. I took a Spanish rice with tomato sauce recipe that I found here http://www.food.com/recipe/spanish-rice-using-tomato-sauce-182403 but added stuff to it.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups rice
  • 2.5 cups chicken broth
  • 1.5 cup tomato sauce
  • .5 cup water
  • 3 minced garlic cloves
  • 14cup chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 lb ground beef (I get the leanest I can find)
  • A bunch of chopped asparagus, I added about 2 cups
  • Sprinkle of shredded cheese (if you like)

Directions

  • In a skillet (I use an electric one) sauté onions, garlic, and oil in pan
  • Add hamburger to brown – once browned, remove excess grease
  • Add rice to brown a bit
  • Add chicken (or veggie) broth, tomato sauce, and asparagus
  • Bring to a boil
  • Reduce heat to low/medium and cover
  • Cook about 20-25 minutes until rice is soft
  • Fluff with fork
  • Put on plate and add some cheese to the top if you wish!

SO this turned out pretty good. I made some modifications to the recipe above that I didn’t do when I cooked it myself. For one, I didn’t have the .5 cup water and I probably could have used the extra liquid, you could probably sub that with more chicken broth if you like. Also I cooked for exactly 20 minutes and I probably could have used the more liquid PLUS an extra 5 minutes or so. The rice was mostly done, but I could have just used a little more time to get perfect!!

Alas, I forgot to take a pic, which I’ll get better about – BUT my hubby loved it. Now personally, I could have used some other spices maybe some chili powder to give it just a little bit extra flavor. But baby and hubby loved it and I am just being critical of myself – so overall it was a success!

Tonight I’ll be working on my meal plan for next week – which will need to be 21 day fix approved! So stay tuned for what that will look like. I’m a little excited to be eating better and cooking food at home. PLUS it has been paying off on the scale too. I am now day to 213.6 and have been going between this and 215 for the last few days. This could be because of the Shakeology too, but I think really focusing on the eating has me feeling better emotionally and physically. I feel good about the food I’m feeding the fam and my body is responding well to the changes. I have WAY more energy these days and have been sleeping like a baby at night.

That is it for today all!! Hope you have a great day and stay on track with your goals.

fitness-inspiration-pictures

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Skillet Spanish Rice

Leave a Reply

