Hello Old Friends!

HELLO FITNESS FRIENDS!

Long time no talk! The last year of new parenthood has been quite the rollercoaster ride. Figuring out how to live, function, etc with this new little family member was much more of a lifestyle change than I anticipated going in. Although, we are buddies and I *LOVE* being a parent. Life is full of new little adventures!

20150404_153644

My fitness goals have been severely lacking this past year because of this. One of the main reasons is the simple fact that I work full time – every precious second I have not working, I like to spend with my son. On top of that, who would have thought that one tiny human could add on SOOOO much housework!

But that is neither here nor there! I need to get back into my groove and find something that works.

FOOD!

On the eating front, we have been doing quite well. It is much more necessary to eat quality foods when you are feeding your baby. We have been eating at home mostly and I try to provide as complete of dinners as I can with the time/resources I have – and I am continuously trying to expand my culinary skills! Lol which they stem from pathetic, so the only way to go is up! I’ve been coming up with a meal plan weekly and compiling my shopping list. This is NEW to me. But so far, we are on week two and doing pretty good! Here is our dinner plan for the week….

Monday
Dinner – Skillet Lasagna – http://pickfreshfoods.com/2014/01/23/creamy-skillet-lasagna/

Tuesday
Dinner – Lil Smoky Pizza Pockets – HOMEMADE DOUGH! Woohoo!

Wednesday
Dinner – Fried Rice –  http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Egg-Fried-Rice

Thursday
Dinner – Hamburger, rice, tomato sauce

Friday
Dinner – Mac and Cheese, veggies

Saturday
Dinner – tuna sandwiches, veggies

Sunday
Dinner – Mashed Potatoes and Cube Stake, asparagus

That is the plan! Let’s see how it goes J I’ve been doing pretty well so far! I’ve also been packing lunch for the hubby and me every day. The goals being to eat BETTER and save MONEY!

EXERCISE!

I’ll admit, I’ve been lacking on the exercise front. I’ve been strength training once a week and taking trail walks with baby on the weekends. I’ve recently decided that distance running and triathlons may need to be put on hold for the immediate future. I’ve spent half a year pretending that is what I am going to do and then never convincing myself to get the workout in.

I’ve decided to switch directions and try the work of at home workout tapes. I just purchased the 21 day fix program from Beach Body and am looking forward to trying out the tapes and seeing if it helps me get in shape. The 30 minute a day home workout systems less intimidating than trying to make it to the gym most days during the week.

Aside from any organized programs though, having an extremely active one year old has proved to be quite the workout in and of itself!

WEIGHT LOSS!

Well these days I am weighing in at 215.6 lbs (as of this morning) if you followed me before – you will see that this is the lowest weight I have been at since starting this blog!! Forced better eating + running after a baby + LOTS of housework = one of the better weight loss programs. Lol!

Just a little preview of the changes my body has seen in the last year!! Can you image last March I had a baby! (Left, 39 weeks pregnant / Right, 1 year postpartum)

10985325_10206211803642286_8589414210188307227_n

I look forward to continuing to work on this and I’ll be posting some updates with regards to my 21 day fix! If I can lose about 7 more pounds, I will be at my PRE-MARRIAGE weight!! (Pre-baby weight has long since been crushed!)

It’s good to be back and now since I have this parenting thing more under wraps and some interesting fitness/eating goals in mind for the future – I’m hoping to stay a little more up-to-date! I love sharing in this journey with you!

tumblr_n0l5qhcbfO1svd08to1_250

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello Old Friends!

  1. Good luck Morgan, I just found you and I’m looking forward to reading about your journey!

Leave a Reply

