SUP and First Tri Post Pregnancy

The last few weeks have been crazy busy with work, kiddo, training, life… but extremely fun and totally worth the effort!

First up – I went Stand-up Paddle Boarding for the first time. Out of the group of 6 that went, I was one of the only two that didn’t fall in. Go me! Mostly because my tactic was not to move to much… lol – my feet hurt a lot by the end, but overall, I’m addicted!

wpid-img_116009326985184.jpeg

Yesterday was my triathlon. I was planning on doing a super sprint (.25 mile swim, 9 mile bike, and 1.5 mile run) and the week before I had all but decided to not do it. I hadn’t been training well enough and wasn’t confident about it.

Upon chatting with some friends, they told me they were doing a different tri. It was also a shortened sprint (.25 mile swim, 9.8 mile bike, 3.1 mile run)

I went from.. “no way am I ready for a tri” to “yeah! I am totally down for the longer more challenging course!” *facepalm*

Let me tell you, this was the hardest tri I have done yet. The bike course was hilly and so was the run. But I survived. End of the pack? Sure! But finished it and didn’t hurt myself

wpid-20140906_110912.jpg

 Swim – my arms ached so bad from my strength training on Thursday.  It literally hurt to rotate them… This was miserable! Luckily it is the shortest leg and I finished in around a pathetic 17 minutes. 

Bike – the bike was the hilliest ride i had done this year and what I was most afraid of. It ended up being ok and the most enjoyable leg. I finished in around 45 minutes and made it up some pretty challenging hills for my poor untrained quads. But I survived and it was beautiful.

Run – ok this run stunk!  I didn’t even think about the run course before I decided to do this… but maybe I should have.  By the time I hit the run it was hot. There was no shade. It was hillyyyy. So it was me, the pavement, hills, and the blazing sun. I finished in about 40 minutes which I deem a great accomplishment.

wpid-img_115998174874043.jpeg

 Overall I finished in about 1 hour and 48 minutes. I got under 2 hours which is what I was hoping for. I competed in Athena and was solidly middle of the pack for that group. Next year I’ll stand a good chance of stomping those girls if I do this race again. Which I would certainly consider!

On the weight loss front, I shot back up to 230, but am confident I’ll be around 227 again tomorrow morning. Also I fit back into my favorite pre pregnancy jeans last week. Just goes to show you, weight isn’t as important as muscle tone.

Well all, that is all I have for you today! Keep trying and stay focused on your goals!

10511086_305742836268502_3742678958803021291_n

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SUP and First Tri Post Pregnancy

  1. ashley says:

    Stand up paddle boards are so much fun!! I’ve never heard of a super sprint tri. I’m intrigued by that! I’m intimidated by sprint tris. I can run but am not a swimmer or biker, but I feel like I can train to those distances and maybe actually get there. Congrats on finishing!

  2. Lady J says:

    Yay yay yay! Proud of you! No such thing as a pathetic time 🙂

Leave a Reply

