Seafair Triathlon! – My first full sprint

Hello Everyone!

Well last weekend was an exciting one! I participated in my first FULL sprint triathlon. The distances for that are .5 mile swim / 12 mile bike / 3.1 mile run!

For this race I was not quite sure how to pace myself so I was probably a little tooo cautious, but next time I will have a better feel for how I’ll do so I can go a little crazier. Also I should have some sort of Garmin next time to track time and distance. I was flying blind last weekend which makes pacing a little tricky! I had no idea how far I’d gone or how far I had left to go.

SWIM!

I finished my half mile swim in 22:03 – This was a HUGE win for me! 🙂 I did a half mile swim race the weekend before and finished in over 27 minutes. I was STUNNED to finish it in 22! BUT excited and I hope to be down into the teens by my next sprint at the end of August.

Swimming is a fun sport. Although the key is just getting the form down! I am still getting a little better with my form every week but I still have a long time to go before I have it down. Although I am getting close. Coach says that I am getting closer to getting intervals on my workouts rather than form drills.

 Image

(I’m the one in the front)

BIKE!

On the bike, the course was a little hillier then I anticipated. Although, I didn’t have any trouble really and my freshly tuned up bike performed like a champ.

I got a pair of bike shoes a couple weeks ago and I don’t think I have ever been so in love with shoes in my life! They make the biking experience WAY more enjoyable!

While on the swim I went near all out, on the bike I held back. Finished the 12 mile bike in a little over 50 minutes. I am thinking I probably could have done it in the 40-45 minutes range if I pushed myself a little harder. BUT alas I was unsure how I would feel on the run so I held back.

 Image

RUN!

On the run I was feeling SOLID! I felt strong, happy, and just good! UNTIL I reached the hill of doom. It was basically a quarter mile monster and my legs had still not fully recovered from the bike. It was pretty hard to lift them up the hill so I ended up walking.

I finished the 5k in about 34:30 which is a pretty slow 5K for me. But now I know to add some post bike hill running to get my brain and legs use to change. My next sprint does NOT have hill of doom, so it will be exciting to see how much faster I can get this leg done!

 Image

OVERALL!

Had a blast! Finished in about 1 hour and 50 minutes. I hope that my next one will be in the 1:35:00 – 1:40:00 range – but we will see how much I improve over the next *eek* 3 weeks!

Image

IN OTHER NEWS!

I am building to half marathons again. I have picked TWO! One at the very end of September and one in the middle of October! 🙂 I have a handful of peeps doing each one so I am more inclined to stay excited about training because I will be pumped for race day!

BUT then I am taking at least a month off from running to give my body some recovery time. I am thinking from the completion of my half in October until the end of November. I will still bike and swim, but sometimes you just need to give the body a break from running. My coach recommends 1 month a year and I am following that advice this year. It doesn’t seem to hurt her performance any! 🙂

That’s it for now, peeps! 🙂 I have some food related posts to do over the next couple days – I’ll give you a break from the tri talk! 

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seafair Triathlon! – My first full sprint

  1. Well done! Really enjoyed your post and the photos are great!

  2. leannenalani says:

    Congratulations on the triathlon! That is so much to accomplish. You really smoked your swim time!

  3. MikeW says:

    Solid achievement!

Leave a Reply

