Happy National Running Day!

Image

Happy National Running Day everyone! 🙂 

I seem to have no running on the schedule for today… I will be swimming AND cycling – BUT I may just slip in a 1 mile run or so to celebrate!

WHY do I run? What a seriously complicated question. It feels like it shouldn’t be, but running is so epic it is hard to explain.

–         Camaraderie – This is a big one! There is so much passion and kindness from the girls that I run with… even when I don’t feel like doing it anymore – their friendship keeps me going

–         Self-Awareness – It is hard to explain to you have much more in tune I am with my body then before I was a runner. You can easily tell the difference between “good pain” and “bad pain” – you know what to eat and what not to eat to keep your stomach calm — you can see a cold coming on from changes in your heart rate – you know when to push and when to let up – You are so aware of you body it is almost crazy.

–         Stress Relief and Focus – So before I became a runner, I was one of those anxious girls that thinks too much and obsessed over everything. My co-worker always would tell me I was on a loop and to stop chewing on things for so long… Now I can tell you, I DO NOT do that anymore. Before I had to struggle to turn my brain off…. Now I can seriously “wake up” and realize I had not been thinking about a single thing for a very long time Lol – You know how weird it is to be able to get your mind completely blank. In the beginning, I would use my running time to maul over things some more, work through problems, and think about solutions. Now that I have been doing it for more then two years, I pretty much don’t think about anything when I run. If I need a distraction, I count. Lol

–         Power and Strength – I like running because you can feel powerful without any other repercussions. Lol. Wanting to feel powerful is pretty normal, I think, but with running, the only thing I have power over is the strength of my body. It is pretty fulfilling and gratifying, but doesn’t control others in anyway (except for maybe my husband who I drag to all my races 🙂 )

Well those are just a few things. I could talk about it for hours! Now these things relate to me personally with running, but mostly are a result of any physical activity. – I feel similarly with regards to swimming and cycling, although running is my first sport love and will ultimately always hold the highest spot in my heart.

Happy Running Day!

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy National Running Day!

  1. Cindy says:

    All these are fantastic reasons to run! I too find that I’m more in tune with my body when I run. It’s kinda amazing to be so aware of how your body is working 😀

Leave a Reply

