Mini Weekend Vacation!

So, this past weekend I was in beautiful Portland, Oregon! I am sorry to say that I did very little exercise and I ate garbage. But sometimes that is how vacations go. Luckily, we were only gone for 4 days.

I did do a lot of walking and did some lunges in the hotel room (I also took the stairs to our 3rd floor hotel room every chance I got!). I went swimming in their pool once, but it was about the size of a large hot tub and it was freezing cold! I practiced my form a little bit, but if I kicked off, I could make it to the other side. And I think I could only do about 2-3 strokes for one length too. Although I did it the once, I didn’t take the time to try again. Lol.

We did do a lot of walking though. We went to the Japanese Gardens, which was pretty beautiful!

Image

Image

BUT my favorite was Multnomah Falls! This place was spectacular! I am not sure if it was the falls per say, but the drive there with the view of the Columbia River, was just breathtaking. In the morning it had a light fog, it made me feel like I should be in a fantasy movie or something!

Image

Image

 AND the falls…

 Image

We ate at the Multnomah Lodge for breakfast, which was great! I just had eggs, hash browns, and toast. But it felt more like REAL food! I am actually happy to be back home where I can stop eating out and go back to eating food with things like… vitamins! Lol.

At the falls my hubby agreed to go up to the viewing bridge, which is a .25 mile uphill walk. I was SHOCKED! 🙂 He would drive to the neighbors house if I let him. I was super excited for this.

 Image

Once we were up on the viewing deck, we walked up a little further (SHOCK) to see if there was anything else pretty to see. But at some point the husband was ready to turn back. I told him to hold my purse and I would check a little bit up ahead for more views.

I took off running up the hill at an easy jog. Went about a quarter mile and wished I could go further, but I turned back. My body was aching for running after a weekend of not really doing anything and once I ran into the hubby again and we started walking back… I swear my legs were trembling… They kept telling me “What was that? A taunt! 😦 We want to run!!” But alas, we had to get in the car and drive for 3 hours instead.

AND NOW I am back at home. I did a little cycle when we got home on Monday and last night was TRACK TUESDAY! 🙂 I picked up some new shoes before track yesterday and I will talk more about those in a few days when I have some miles under my belt.

On another note, I added these Portland photos to the Portland album that I created on our last trip down there in October 2012. Check out the difference in my face!! Amazing what 15 little pounds can do 🙂

Image

October 2012

Image

May 2013

Hope everyone is having a great week!!

Image

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mini Weekend Vacation!

  1. The difference in your face is awesome and should so inspire you! Congratulations on how far you’ve come! Glad you had a nice vacation in Portland. I’ve lived here for a little over 20 years and I while I love to go other places and think about moving away — I know I will always come home to Portland.

    • Morgan says:

      Yeah, I love going to Oregon! 🙂 With Powell’s Books, how could anyone NOT want to live near Portland! One day I will talk my husband into moving down from Washington.

  2. Cindy says:

    I love your pictures! It looks like a beautiful area 😀
    You look awesome and good for you getting some exercise in during your vacation. I’m gonna have to “pin” your quote…that is too awesome!

    • Morgan says:

      Cindy! I am happy to re-find find your blog! I was getting emails about clean green nutrition, so I thought there was no new posts because I hadn’t got an email in awhile! 🙂 Love the Pick Fresh Foods layout btw!

      • Cindy says:

        Thanks Morgan 😀 The .com for CGN was taken so, I changed the name 😦 Everything is “suppose” to be directed to Pick Fresh but I’m not savvy enough to know if it is happening. lol

  3. leannenalani says:

    Great pictures! What a big difference you can see in your face!

Leave a Reply

