Shamrock Run 5k and other goodness!

So this has been a busy week! There are some new things going on and I have lots to share!

First, yesterday I did a 5k race for St. Patty’s Day. I finished in 34:16 and although this was supposed to be a race to go for a PR in – That didn’t pan out – mostly because the first 1.5 miles of the race it was nearly entirely uphill!! Overall a pretty good time for a very hilly course – I really am itching to get a PR on my 5k soon. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for a nice flat course.

 Image

^^^ You may have to look for me for a minute! ^^^

This race was pretty fun because all my girls were there. We had a pretty large crew of participants. My coach ran the dog part and she got first female overall. AWESOME. Another one of my girls got first in her age group in the dog race and my father-in-law got first in his age group for the regular 5k. It was a good race for the crew.

After the race I went to a friend’s house for a post-race brunch. It was super fun hanging out with the crew and the HERD of dogs. I left mine at home because I wasn’t sure how they would handle the masses – but even without them coming, there were 7 big dogs present.

—–

Also this week I had my first swim lesson. Surprisingly I wasn’t as terrible as I thought. I use to swim when I was younger, but never really in a fitness setting. But overall I am happy with my progress after just one lesson. It is now really just getting everything to becoming second nature and practicing breathing air rather than water. The only way to do this is to get in the pool and practice as much as possible. That is the goal!! I will probably get back in the pool a little bit tomorrow. After that Coach is going to be adding them into my schedule. I have a second swim lesson this week.

The Coach took a short video of where I am at with pointers on what to work on. Here it is:

http://www.coachseye.com/CYM4  < for some reason WordPress wont let me embed it.

—–

For food this week I tried some new things!! AND THEY WERE YUMMY!!!

First, last Sunday I made black bean quinoa burgers

 Image

The recipe for them is

INGREDIENTS:

1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed anddrained1/4 cup quinoa1/2 cup water

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1/4 cup minced yellow bell pepper

2 tablespoons minced onion

1 large clove garlic, minced1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin1/2 teaspoon salt1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (such as

Frank’s RedHot®)

1 egg

3 tablespoons olive oil

DIRECTIONS:

1. Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes.
2. Roughly mash the black beans with a fork leaving some whole black beans in a paste-like mixture.
3. Mix the quinoa, bread crumbs, bell pepper, onion, garlic, cumin, salt, hot pepper sauce, and egg into the black beans using your hands.
4. Form the black bean mixture into 5 patties.
5. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet.
6. Cook the patties in the hot oil until heated through, 2 to 3 minutes per side.

It can be found here http://allrecipes.com/recipe/quinoa-black-bean-burgers/

I put these basically on a bun and ate it the way I would eat a burger. It was pretty much delicious! And filled the need I was having for a burger after I gave up red meat 1 month ago.

—–

I also tried a variation of a recipe I found on Cindy’s blog over at Clean and Green Nutrition.

She had posted a recipe for kale and black bean quesadillas (FIND THE RECIPE HERE) – The hubby made it very clear that he was not willing to eat Kale. SO I subbed in Spinach instead and it proved to be good. I also added salsa to the top. I used regular whole wheat tortillas rather than the spelt tortillas that Cindy recommended. The only reason for this was because I had some on hand. Next time I plan on trying the spelt ones.

Image

^^^ Sorry don’t make them look as fancy as Cindy does! Lol ^^^

—–

I would also like to introduce you to a new member of the family, Ninja, his role is to make us amazing smoothies!

Image

He has been doing a good job so far! I finally decided it was about time to make yummy creations where I fuel my body before bed. YES I intake calories before bed!! And also sneak some nutrients into my hubby that I know he isn’t getting in his diet. So far all smoothies made have been a hit! I typically have been making just mixed berry ones with orange juice. I also add in either almond milk or coconut milk (my husband HATES all things coconut, BUT can tolerate it in a smoothie! Which is good because coconut is one of the BEST things you can put into you body!). I also rotate between flax seed and chai seed. I may start adding both.

I got bare bones ingredients last week, but when I go to the store today I am going to pick up some more things to add! One thing I am going to try adding is ginger to all my smoothies. Mostly because it is said to help with the acid reflux that my hubby experiences, it helps settle the stomach. It should also help with any muscle soreness that I get from my workouts during the week because of its anti-inflammatory properties.

—–

WEIGH INS!

Last week when I weighed in I came in at 217.2 which is a .2lb increase over the week before. This was OK, the week before was a huge loss for me so I almost expected to not see another big one this week. A .2 lb difference is basically like staying neutral – I am OK with that.

BUT TODAY when I weighed in I came in at 215.2 which is a 2lb loss over last week! This means toooo that I am essentially ¼ of the way to my goal of losing 60lbs. Since this loss brings me pretty darn close to the 15lb loss overall mark.

—–

Hope everyone is doing well!

Image

ImageImage

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shamrock Run 5k and other goodness!

  1. Cindy says:

    Yay! I’m glad you made the quesadillas 😀 I’m going to try those black bean quinoa burgers. Sounds really tasty!

  2. great job on your 5k and your weigh in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

