Lunge Master March!

So I have been doing lunges pretty consistently since the beginning of February. I am staring to not feel quite as much soreness doing my current lunge routine of 5 lunges per leg of 5 different variations of lunges. With that being said, I have decided to try to expand my lunge ability and get one step close to being able to do them over and over without even blinking. 🙂

For the month of March I am challenging myself to become a lunge master! The plan is to do my lunge matrix every other day adding one lunge per leg per lunge variation every time.

For example,

March 1 –  5 lunges per leg per lunge variation

March 3 – 6 lunges per leg per lunge variation

March 5 – 7 lunges per leg per lunge variation

….. etcetera

By my calculations I should be up to at least 20 lunges per leg per variation by the end of the month. IS THIS POSSIBLE? Not sure! We will see. That brings me up to 100 lunges per leg by the end of the month! Lol. Let’s see how it goes!

If anyone wants to do this challenge with me here is the lunge matrix I use…

Lunge Matrix:

  • forward lunge
  • forward lunge w/rotation
  • side lunge
  • side lunge with step back
  • reverse lunge

Why am I doing them every other day? Because it is good for your muscles to rest to have time to rebuild before you break them down again.

This is kind of a side strength training thing I am going to try to do. I still have plenty of other exercises that I do frequently and will share those with you – but lunges seem to cause me the most soreness and are probably one of the most beneficial strength exercises for running.

If I start getting good at this, I may even add in more different variations of lunges! They are a pretty versatile type of exercise!

HERE GOES NOTHING! I may even take a before and after pick to see if it makes any significant difference in my booty and thighs. 🙂

LUNGE MASTERY BEGINS TOMORROW! 

Image

Image

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunge Master March!

  1. willbfit says:

    Good for you!!

Leave a Reply

