Ever consider going vegan?

Today I discovered the wonder of almond butter. I packed some fruit for lunch and a brought my new almond butter with me. I only used a tablespoon but seriously… it was DELICIOUS! I am happy to have found a new lunch add-on!

For dinner tonight I broke out the crock pot – for the first time ever!! (I’ve only had the thing 5 years or so! Lol) I made some homemade minestrone and it was actually super tasty!! I am going to officially start using my crock pot on Mondays and Wednesday so dinner is ready when I get home from my later shift.

The recipe!

  • 4 cups vegetable broth (or chicken broth) (from 32-oz carton)
  • 4 cups tomato juice
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil leaves
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced (1 cup)
  • 2 medium celery stalks, chopped (1 cup)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked rotini pasta (4 1/2 oz)
  • 1 can pinto beans rinsed (you could use regular beans, I used canned because of time1.       In 4- to 5-quart slow cooker, mix all ingredients except pasta and cheese.
    2.       Cover; cook on Low heat setting 7 to 8 hours.
    3.       Stir in pasta. Increase heat setting to High; cover and cook 15 to 20 minutes longer or until pasta is tender. Sprinkle each serving with cheese.

    Note: This recipe was tested in slow cookers with heating elements in the side and bottom of the cooker, not in cookers that stand only on a heated base. For slow cookers with just a heated base, follow the manufacturer’s directions for layering ingredients and choosing a temperature.

This recipe can be found here — http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/slow-cooker-vegetable-minestrone/e2d51a25-103b-45d0-9112-2d7addb70c25 — The original called for mushrooms and cheese (which I excluded) and did not call for beans (which I added)

 

Image

Tomorrow I am going to try making some enchiladas with ground turkey. This week is really the week of experimentation. I really want to try to get better at making actual food; food that doesn’t come from a box but is rather made with real ingredients.

As you heard yesterday I spent a lot of my weekend watching food documentaries. Now I watched another one called Vegucated.

Basically – I have considered going vegetarian before but after watching this documentary and frankly the graphic footage of how farm animals are treated – it really has me thinking very hard about going vegan. I still have food to eat and I plan on eating it as to not be wasteful. But once my animal products are used up, I will have to do some serious thinking and research on deciding if I want to buy anymore.

With my life, my husband is a meat eater and will never give it up. But doesn’t mean that I have to be – He can buy his own products when he wants them and can enjoy dinners with animal products when we eat out. I am really trying to focus in on creating a lower calorie higher nutrition diet. Not only for me, but for him as well – I want us to live long, happy, healthy lives!

What is your take? Do I have any vegan or even just vegetarian readers out there? I would love to hear how the way you eat affects your life.

—–

For fitness today is strength and a ride with my bike trainer. I am dilly dallying around a little bit but as soon as I finish here – those are my next two activities before my head hits the pillow.

Any tips on how to stay strong while on a bike trainer? I LOVE riding… outside! The bike trainer just seems like torture. Any tips to distract your mind or stay positive would be appreciated! This is my first winter using a bike trainer and I don’t know if it is just physically harder… or mentally harder! Lol

—–

The final news for the day is – I finally created a Facebook page for this blog. I am not sure how many fans I’ll get, but if you want to receive updates via Facebook you can click the like button on the menu to the right or visit me at http://facebook.com/morgangetsfit

—–

Time for me to check out! I have an important date with a bike trainer! 🙂

 Image

Image

STAY POSITIVE!

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ever consider going vegan?

  1. sassyred79 says:

    I bought some almond butter a few weeks ago, but have yet to open it. Glad you wrote how delicious it is…I’ll open my jar when I get home later.

  2. day730 says:

    Great blog. Wishing you lots of luck with your fitness endeavours!

  3. Rachel Ray had a whole session on crock pots today:) Looking forward to following your running and healthy living journey, keep it up!!

  4. Cindy says:

    I’m a huge fan of turkey meat over ground beef. I think you hardly notice the difference, except with the super lean ground turkey. I was vegetarian for quite some time but have gone back to eating meat. Try adding a couple meatless meals to your week and see how you like it, there are lots of meatless meals that are satisfying and filling 😀

    • Morgan says:

      Yeah that is what I am thinking! Starting first, I am just going to eliminate red meat as much as possible, because it isn’t the best for me generally and there are alternatives that are healthier, like turkey. Then just slowly eliminating it from my diet and seeing how my energy level, etc, feels! Thanks for the tips!

  5. Natalie@fit.fun.femme. says:

    I’ve been a vegetarian for 7.5 years. One of the best decisions of my life 🙂

  6. jfgirlie311 says:

    I have been a vegetarian for nearly 20 years now. I find that it is still a challenge and sometimes more of a challenge to eat healthy. Check out my blog post about why being vegetarian doesn’t mean you’re healthy. But as long as you educate yourself about products (there are a lot of things that contain animal protein that you would never guess) and research the nutrition aspect, I certainly encourage it as a great option.

  7. I have been a vegetarian for years! I’d be excited to see how you do meals with your omnivore husband if you do make that decision — I’ve never dated another vegetarian and try to cook omni-friendly veg meals for dates/friends/family 🙂

Leave a Reply

