Staying on track!

So I know I have been a little MIA the last two days… I was spending my free time reading this…

ImageI know a comic book about Zombies may not be at the top of everyone’s list of things to do… but this is the last volume… It was cancelled! 😦 So I guess it won’t disrupt my life again! Haha!

What I have NOT been slacking on is my workouts!

For Monday –

STRENGTH DAY! I don’t know why, but strength days have become my favorite. I have really been focusing on building my glute and core strength and have found home exercises to be convenient and effective. How do I know they are effective? Because I feel the muscle pain for 2 days! Lol. I skipped the lunges for this one because I had them on the schedule for the following day at track, but here is my strength workout

  • Plank Hold – Moved up to 30 seconds! X2
  • Hip Bridge- 20 reps x2
  • Hip Bridge with one leg – 5 reps each leg x 2 – This was a big OUCH!
  • Side Plank Hold – Moved up to 30 seconds here too! X2 on each side.
  • Side lying hip abduction- 20 reps per side x2 per side
  • Body Weight Squats – 20 x 2

So I am getting pretty good at this stuff and I have been looking to add some new exercises. I have been doing my research and you should see some new stuff soon. Does anyone have any favorite strength exercises for glutes and core? PLEASE SHARE!

I also had 45 minutes on the bike trainer. I don’t know why but the bike trainer is really a mind battle. I know my body doesn’t really hurt and there is no REASON to stop, but it is a pretty challenging brain workout to keep going. Unlike when actually riding outside when I feel like I could go forever. Maybe it is the speed? Or the real wind? Or the scenery? I don’t know, but sitting my living room on a trainer isn’t the most fun workout of the week! 🙂 Luckily, I only have to do it once. My second trainer ride of the week is at a friend’s house, so it is much less challenging for my brain!

For Tuesday

This was track day! One of the hardest tracks in a long time! We had faster running and less slow and long. This makes track pretty challenging and it goes by faster… because let’s face it, running in a giant circle for 30 minutes is kind of boring. If you are at least running fast, you don’t notice how boring it is because you are too focused on keeping up your speed and putting one foot in front of the other. Here is the track workout for yesterday….

Warm Up: .25 mile run

Lunge Matrix: 5 lunges per side of each exercise-

  • forward lunge
  • forward lunge w/rotation
  • side lunge
  • side lunge with step back – reverse lunge

Dynamic Exercises: 40 yd of each

  • High knees
  • Quad Stretch
  • T-bends
  • Straight leg kick
  • Straight leg kick with rotation

Form Exercises: About 50 yd of each-

  • Fast High Knees
  • Fast Butt Kickers
  • Skipping

2 x 30 steps per side of strides (recover on the corners)

Main Workout: 6 x 4min zone 3-4 (1 min recovery between each)

Cool Down – .5 mile run

It was hard! And I feel it today! Especially those lunges. I am hoping at some point I will be able to just do lunges all day long and have no muscle soreness! I hope I will be the LUNGE MASTER and having to research more difficult, HARDER lunges to feel any soreness! Lol! I doubt I will see that any time soon, but I’ll be excited when it does come!

—–

FOR FOOD!

I have been doing pretty well…

For breakfast on Monday, I had a greek yogurt concoction which had peaches, grapefruit, and granola mixed in… it wasn’t pretty to look at… but was actually a pretty good mix!

Image

For lunch the past two days I had a salad mix that looked something like this…..

Image

Yes that is a little summer sausage on the top… I was feeling like being a bit bad! 🙂 Otherwise, it has snap peas, cucumber, nuts, little cheese, balsamic, spring mix lettuce. That is also a whole grain roll I paired with it. I would make a largish batch and kind of snack on it throughout the whole day. A little bit here and there until dinner time.

For Dinner the past two days, I don’t really remember what I ate. It was mostly just some healthy snack food to get me through the evening and to recover from my workouts.

—–

I think that is about all I have for you today! I am on a quick break from work so I need to get back at it!

ImageImage

Image

You can do this! Stay on track!

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying on track!

  1. kramerjen says:

    I always found good strength workouts on self.com …

  2. kristeeh says:

    I just Love your quotes! Especially the one about discipline!

Leave a Reply

