NOT Wordless Wednesday!

So I usually do wordless Wednesday, but I decided not to today… because I have WORDS to say. Today I was feeling much better; hopefully the vitamin C increase as of late is helping me conquer whatever bug is holding me down.

I did the track workout that was scheduled for yesterday and I felt REALLY good. Seriously, the best run I have had since I have been back out there. My heart rate was performing correctly and my speeds were where I would expect to see them. I am still a little slower than December fitness, but it will take time to regain that speed after being down for a month.

Since on Wednesdays I don’t get home from work until 7:30pm, this run was late. I don’t run on the actual track this late… there is something about being caged in, on a deserted track, at night, alone… that really just doesn’t appeal to me. So I picked a nice flat loop in the neighborhood and it worked out perfectly. Here is the workout for the day….

Lunge Matrix: 5 lunges per side of each exercise-

  • forward lunge
  • forward lunge w/rotation
  • side lunge
  • side lunge with step back
  • reverse lunge

Dynamic Exercises: 40 yd of each

  • High knees
  • Quad Stretch
  • T-bends
  • Straight leg kick
  • Straight leg kick with rotation

Form Exercises: About 50 yd of each

  • Fast High Knees
  • Fast Butt Kickers
  • Skipping

Main Workout: 3 x 400 meters / 2 x 1200 meters (focusing on perfect form)

  • 1st 400m – zone 1 (marathon pace)
  • 2nd 400m – zone 2 (half marathon pace)
  • 3rd 400m – zone 2 (half marathon pace)
  • 1st 1200m – zone 2-3 (half marathon – 10k pace)
  • 2nd 1200m – zone 3-4 (10k-5k pace)

Cool Down – about .75 Miles

Total distance: 3.5 mile run

Hopefully I can keep my health in check for the rest of the week. I actually have a 5k on the schedule for the weekend. I have to do 4.5 miles total for that day, but I am planning on doing a 1.5 mile easy warm-up before the 5k. If my heart rate stays in check for my run tomorrow, I may actually have a chance at performing decently this weekend. We will have to see how it goes!

——–

For food today I did pretty well. My new favorite breakfast is Greek yogurt with Mini Wheats mixed in. It breaks up the texture of the yogurt, which is good, the texture is yucky. 🙂

For lunch I had a salad with weed lettuce, cucumber, snap peas, little cheese, and balsamic. Yum! But boring, this is kind of my go-to lunch!

For dinner, my hubby offered to make me something (*gasp*) and told me turkey sandwiches were what was on the menu. He brings me my sandwich after careful preparation and I was really expecting just turkey and cheese on some bread… but he surprised me by making a turkey hummus sandwich. It sounds weird but was surprisingly delicious and I totally plan to add hummus to my sandwiches in the future.

——-

Now I am super tired though. It has been a crazy couple hours since I got home from work! It is time to relax with a cup of my bed time tea and cuddle up under the covers for the night!

 Image

Image

Image

Image

STAY STRONG! You are doing great!

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NOT Wordless Wednesday!

  1. Woah, that’s an intense workout! Good luck at your 5k!

  2. Natalie@fit.fun.femme. says:

    What is weed lettuce and is it good? That salad sounds amazing 🙂

  3. jswesner says:

    Loved this post! Keep up the great work!

  4. Nicole says:

    I LOVE hummus in a sandwich!! SO yummy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

