The people in my life who encourage me!

So today I decided to sit out for track and try it tomorrow. My sore throat and running nose have come back a little bit today and spending my evening running in the rain and cold is probably not the best choice if my cold may be coming back on. I have been taking recommended servings of Airborne everyday so hopefully I can avoid cold number 2 coming on full force this week. Luckily, my treadmill should be coming soon!! This is good!! Because since I have been so unwell this season it will give me the opportunity to at least get my running done indoors where I won’t be subjected to the elements! This has been such a brutal cold season!!

—–

In any case – Since I have some spare time now, I wanted to chat a little bit about my support system! I have some extra free time lately because I am not training for anything in particular… but when I have a race coming up; I spend a lot of time running. I also have school and work too, sometimes my schedule can get overwhelming and certain people keep me going.

My number one fan and biggest supporter is my husband, Keith. He has suffered through many nights fending for himself for dinner. He has stood outside for long periods of time in the rain while I am racing. He even stood and waited for me in the baking sun for nearly 3 hours while I was doing my half marathon. He has to deal with me purchasing “gear” frequently (like my treadmill). Through it all, he never complains and continues to encourage me.

Last July after going to a half-Ironman race to watch some of my girls who were participating, I came home and told him “Honey, I want to do it! I want to be out there pushing myself to the limit. I don’t want to do just a half Ironman, I don’t think I will be satisfied until I complete a full! With that being said, I only want one child and we should start trying now!” He is a good sport. He agreed to settle for just one child so that I can live my dreams one day and not have to put them on hold till 2 children are old enough.

Don’t get me wrong, I support him too. He is an avid Magic the Gathering player and plays one day a week and occasionally goes to tournaments on the weekend. Deciding to have one child is a choice good for both of us. Neither one of us wants to give up our hobbies or dreams, but we want the family with a child too!

Image

My husband is great and puts up with my crazy VERY well! 🙂 He even accepted me when I was a zombie for the day! I was pretty scary! (and a runner zombie, of course!)

Image

My second biggest fan is my father-in-law. I have talked about him some because he is my usual running buddy. He is super encouraging and when I am having a bad day and feel like giving up on running or claim to hate it, he lifts me up and gives me perspective! He is really great about that… giving me perspective when I feel down or hopeless.

I had the honor to do my long runs with him during my last half-marathon training (the half that was supposed to be last month, but I ended up hurting myself and getting sick instead). I’ll tell you what, sometimes when you are out doing a long training run, your company makes all the difference. He knows just the right thing to say to keep me going and keep me motivated.

Image

My mother-in-law and parents are great too! They are a little less involved with my training but never cease to make time to come and support me during major races. Both sets of parents and the hubby all came to my first half to cheer me on to get me to the finish!

I also have the pleasure of running and training with a large group of girls who all have the same goals that I do! They are my driving force to get better and do bigger things! They are all endurance athletes too and believe it or not, I am the most out of shape in the group! Lol – I run and bike with 6 girls, we are all in different stages in our life so we each have different ideas to put forth to the group. They have all become my greatest asset when it comes to training. This includes my bestie, who actually trained for my first half last September with me the whole way. We even ran the race together to get through our first one the best we could!

It is important for me to recognize the people in my life that help me to lace up my shoes and get out the door. Without them I would have given up on running (especially) long ago! Since by nature… I am kind of a hobby hopper with a short attention span! Running is my longest enduring hobby and I have been at it for 2 years now with no plans to stop.

—–

With that being said I forgot to mention that I am participating in a trail relay race this coming April! It is a 58 mile relay race that we do in groups of 5 or so. It is pretty refreshing to be able to have an active group where I can participate in AWESOME races like this. I love trail running and this will certainly be a blast!

Well I am off to try to catch up on homework, now that I have the time! OH I love business school – Mid-terms are this week! Joy!

Image

Image

HOPE YOU ARE HAVING A GOOD, HEALTHY WEEK!! 

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The people in my life who encourage me!

  1. kaprise says:

    i love the motivational pictures you post! especially the two for today!
    keep up the good work, i hope you feel better ASAP!

  2. kellynsq says:

    Like you, I’m really thankful for the people around me as well. Those we know will always hold our backs. (:
    All the best for your mid-terms, your races, and I hope you feel better soon too (:

  3. jswesner says:

    That is wonderful that you have such a big support team. Keep up the hard work and I hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

