Nike Frees and Night Running

So tomorrow is my weigh-in day and I am feeling hopeful. I did a pretty good job this week, although I didn’t do nearly enough exercise, I stayed on track with my food pretty much the whole week.

I did get out and run tonight. I only did 1.3 miles and it felt like a chore. My lungs were really struggling, but at least my legs felt strong. I guess that is what you get when you haven’t run in 2 weeks. Luckily I have always found that my lungs come back pretty quick and that has never been something I struggled with. Usually it is overall fatigue of the legs and mind with long distance. I am hopefully in a couple days my lungs and heart rates will be back to normal.

Tomorrow I have a running date with my father-in-law on the trail. He said “we will aim for 4-6 miles depending on how we feel.” I replied with “OK”, but realistically 4 miles is probably the maximum I will be up for tomorrow. Don’t want to hurt myself right back from hurting myself. Lol.

I am pretty big barefoot running enthusiast and have been for 2 years. I typically run in socks, aqua socks, or vibram five fingers… but today I picked up these bad boys…….

Image

With the serious long distance running I plan on doing, I am feeling like I may just need a little cushion. I think barefooting is great on trails, pea gravel, grass, dirt, and even short distances on asphalt and cement. ALTHOUGH I find that once I go over 10 miles, no matter how much build up I properly do… my feet just ache with the impact of running for so long on asphalt or cement. I know we are made to be runners and the tendons in our feet and legs love this stuff… but our ancient ancestors probably didn’t have a lot of cement to run on and let’s face it… I do 90% of my running on the stuff.

The shoes I picked up today are Nike Frees and they have quite an interesting sole. For the amount of cushion on it, it can bend like a Vibram because the sole is broken into small sections rather than being solid. See what I mean…..

Image

The verdict… I think I love them!! Well let’s see how they hold up tomorrow after 3-4 miles rather than just 1… But I like that they allow my foot the bend the way I am use to. The ground feel is not as good, but that is kind of what I am looking for, since the ground feel of cement is hard. I am hoping that it will be a relatively painless transition into these minimalist shoes from the barefoot running. I am excited to see how my body handles it. The heel to toe drop is 5mm rather than the zero drop that I am use to which kind of makes me feel a little off.. 5mm doesn’t seem like that much but when you are a runner you are very in tune with your body and you can really feel those 5mm. But as of now I am not concerned about them and think it isn’t a significant enough change that it will bother me in the long run.

With tonight’s run I also went at night. I do LOVE night running!! Even though it is not quite as safe as daytime running, in the winter you don’t really have much of a choice other than running on treadmill which isn’t a super motivator. There are ways to run outside as safely as possible in the dark… bad stuff could happen but I live by certain rules to hopefully limit the risk as much as possible…

MORGAN’S NIGHT RUNNING RULES

1 – Always go when someone is home – I run when my husband is home and don’t ever go when no one is around. I tell the person who is home the route I am planning on taking, how far I am going, and the time range o expect me back. This makes me feel better because I know someone will be aware if something is wrong.

2 – Take a different route – I try to mix up my route frequently. I usually run in my neighborhood but I take different routes around it. I try not to allow myself to get into any sort of routine that someone else could track. I don’t want to be that girl that runs the same route on the same days at the same time. I try to keep my path a little unpredictable.

3 – No headphones – When running at night you need to be aware of your surroundings. I do sometimes run with one headphone in on the lowest setting to just have a little beat, but for the most part I try to HEAR what is going on around me as much as possible and stay alert!

4 – If something feels wrong, pay attention – One day I was running and there was a car with people who were looking for a house, I believe. I still think it was innocent but they were slowly driving down the road right next to me for longer then I liked.. Basically at my pace.. Although it probably was nothing dangerous it made me very uneasy. I picked up the pace and got out of there ASAP. Don’t ignore your gut, it is better to be safe than sorry.

5 – Take a cell phone – I know it can be bulky but having a way to communicate to the outside world is important. What if I twisted my ankle? I can call home for someone to pick me up!! I usually take a cell phone on all my solo runs… especially at night though!

6 – BE SEEN!!!!! – This is important!! I like to be as close to a beacon in the night as I can be. I DON’T WANT TO BE HIT BY A CAR.. or on the trail… I DON’T WANT TO BE HIT BY A BICYCLE!! This is a typical night run look for me….

 Image

I also have reflective logos on my shoes, reflective shoe laces, and reflectors on my pants. If I don’t have reflective strips on my pants I use red blinky lights. If someone ever hit me there is no way they could use the excuse “I didn’t see you.”  Because there would be no way… unless you were blind!!

And there you have it – my rules for running at night as safely as possible.

————-

The hubby and I went to Olive Garden for lunch today and I got this…..

Image

It is a couple slices of lasagna stuffed with zucchini and squash with a bit of chicken. It was DELICIOUS! I will certainly be coming back to Olive Garden for this in the future. Better yet? It was on their less than 600 calorie dinners. So it fit into my plan for the day.

Well it is that time again… BED TIME!! Wish me luck on the weigh in tomorrow and I will fill you in with the results.

Sleep Well and STAY STRONG!

About Morgan

I am a runner who is working to change all the aspects of my life to get fit and stay healthy.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nike Frees and Night Running

  1. Marilyn says:

    Good blog! The comment line wasn’t in an easy place to see. See if you can bold it or something. Those are really helpful hints for running at night, too. Good luck with the weight loss – if you need some extra help my hypnotic audios make it easier, take a peep here http://www.marilyntuck.co.uk/hypnotherapy-recordings/weight-loss-recordings

  2. loseitbig says:

    Nice advice. I am a runner in the early morning. I lack most of your precautions. I guess I am hoping to see the car before the car doesn’t see me.

    • mosherrill says:

      You know I use to feel that way and 98% of the time it is probably true… One day I was running and I went to cross the street and I tripped and fell in the middle. No cars were coming and none continued to come but I thought to myself… if one did they couldn’t see me in what I am wearing… and since then I dress to be seen… mostly because I fall frequently lol I have to be one of the least graceful runners ever! 🙂

  3. Lamar says:

    Love your runner advice! Good luck on your weigh in!

  4. bubblymel says:

    great advice!!!

  5. Good luck! And I like your approach to safety 🙂

  6. mymotherlied2me says:

    Good luck on your weigh in!!

Leave a Reply

